Committees

Amicus Briefs 

Co-Chairs:
Kara Wild - kwild(at)ericksenarbuthnot(dot)com
Josephine Petrick - jpetrick(at)hansonbridgett(dot)com

Our Amicus Briefs Committee prepares amicus briefs authorized by the Board of Directors.  Additionally, the committee advises the Board on amicus briefs for which Queen's Bench's support is requested by other organizations.  

Awards

Co-Chairs:
Holly Schaitberger - hschaitberger(at)hflp(dot)com
Pamela Markert - pmarkert(at)cerallp(dot)com

The Awards Committee chooses the recipients of the Queen’s Bench Lifetime Achievement and Queen’s Bench Merit Awards and advises the Board on other awards as needed. 

Business Development

Co-Chairs:
Lisa A. Villasenor - lavillasenor744(at)aol(dot)com
Tammy Haygood - tammy.haygood(at)ubs(dot)com

The Business Development Committee works to advance the interests of members in connection with business development and works with other professional associations, as they are available, to arrange for the annual LEAADD dinner (Lawyers, Engineers, Architects, Accountants, Doctors, and Dentists).  One of the BD Committee's most popular events is the annual Cocktails and Couture.

HISTORY & Centennial

Co-Chairs:
Hon. Charlotte Woolard - judgewoolard(at)adrservices(dot)org
Clarissa Kang - ckang(at)truckerhuss(dot)com

The Centennial Committee maintains the archives of Queen's Bench.  The committee is already planning the centennial of Queen's Bench in 2021.

Civic and Judicial Appointments

Co-Chairs:
Andrea Russi - alrussi(at)yahoo(dot)com
Sara Craig - scraig(at)levinsimes(dot)com

The Civic and Judicial Appointments Committee provides information to the Board and to the members regarding open positions in all branches and levels of government and information about candidates for those openings.  The goal is to encourage member participation in elections and ensure communication of open positions to the membership.  

Conference of Delegates

Co-Chairs:
Andrea Carlise - acarlise(at)pwc-law(dot)com
Liku Makudoshi - likumadoshi@gmail.com

The Queen's Bench delegation to the CCBA represents Queen's Bench at the annual Conference of California Bar Associations and prepares and submits to the conference, resolutions on behalf of Queen's Bench.

CWL LIAISON

Sophia Roman - sophia_roman(at)gap(dot)com

DEVELOPMENT

Co-Chairs:
Sophia Roman - sophia_roman(at)gap(dot)com
Hana Hardy - hananhardy(at)gmail(dot)com

Diversity 

Co-Chairs:
Sharon Alkire - sharon.alkire(at)gmail(dot)com
Ana Flores - aiflowers2018(at)gmail(dot)com

The Diversity Committee coordinates events for the membership relevant to diversity issues.

Domestic Violence

Co-Chairs:
Kimberly Pye - kimberlypye(at)gmail(dot)com
Elisha Jussen-Cooke - elisha(at)roclinic(dot)org

The Domestic Violence Committee coordinates events for the membership relevant to issues of domestic violence.

Education 

Chair:
Kimiko Akiya - kimiko(dot)akiya(at)gmail(dot)com
Stephanie Smeekens - sasmeekens(at)gmail(dot)com

The Education Committee coordinates MCLE programs for the members of Queen's Bench.

Employment/Work-Life Balance

Co-Chairs:
Kimberly Wong - k.wong(at)veenfirm(dot)com
Angel Garrett - agarrett(at)truckerhuss(dot)com

This committee provides information on employment opportunities and other employment-related matters to the Board and to the members.

Finance

Beverly Brand - beverlyanbrand(at)gmail(dot)com

Juvenile Hall

Co-Chairs:
Cheryl Cotterill - CherylJCotterill(at)gmail(dot)com
Jasna Veledar - jasna.veledar(at)gmail(dot)com

The Juvenile Hall committee organizes twice a month visits to the girls' unit at the Youth Guidance Center.  The committee plans activities to do with the young women incarcerated there. These visits provide a forum for interaction, informal mentoring and provides access to role models for the detainees.

Legislative and Reproductive Rights

Chair:
Karine Cargo - KCargo(at)hflp(dot)com
Beth Hodess - beth(at)hodesslaw(dot)com

This committee studies and reports to the Board of Directors and to the members on legislative matters and insures communication of the position of the organization to the appropriate legislative body.

marketing and communications

Hana Hardy - hananhardy(at)gmail(dot)com

MEMBERSHIP

Alice Purdy - apurdy(at)fkkblaw(dot)com

Mentorship

Angel Garrett - agarrett(at)truckerhuss(dot)com
Lyndsey Heaton - lheaton(at)sideman(dot)com

The Mentorship Committee organizes mentorship events as well as the various mentorship pods. The mentorship pods are created around any shared interest of members and thus is not limited to practice area.  The pods include members of varied levels of experience.  

NEWSLETTER

Sharon Alkire - sharon.alkire(at)gmail(dot)com

PROGRAMS

Sophia Roman - sophia_roman(at)gap(dot)com

Scholarships

Co-Chairs:
Hon. Adrienne Jacobs Miller - adriennemilller(at)gmail(dot)com
Hima Raviprakash - ravip(dot)hima(at)gmail(dot)com

The Scholarships Committee advises the Board on the selection of recipients of the Agnes O'Brien Smith and Mildred W. Levin Scholarships.